• Facebook
  • Booking

5 stars — ★★★★★

November 23, 2017, 14:42

A beautiful and cosy hotel located in a beautiful and peaceful landscape with endearing staff that patiently answers all your questions and supports you with almost everything you need. We have been there during our first stay in Latvia this November and we will definitely come back to Karlamuiza Country Hotel, if we eventually come back to Latvia.

5 stars — ★★★★★

October 15, 2017, 5:14

Lieliska vieta! Mājīgi un omulīgi. Vakariņas ārkārtīgi gardas,vīrs sajūsmā par laša zupiņu. Saimniece ir savā vietā! Noteikti atgriezīsimies.

5 stars — ★★★★★

October 7, 2017, 23:33

Ļoti, ļoti apmierināti! Gan atgriezīsimies atkal!

5 stars — ★★★★★

September 19, 2017, 7:57

Absolūtā sajūsma! Paldies, ka padarījāt mūsu medus dienas vēl saldākas! ;)

5 stars — ★★★★★

September 18, 2017, 9:28

Atradām šo vietu spontāni un nejauši! Fantastiska vieta kur atgriezties vēl un vēl! Iesaku visiem! :)

5 stars — ★★★★★

July 21, 2017, 9:45

Fantastiski skaista, klusa vieta ar īpašu burvību un auru. Lieliska apkalpošana, gardi ēdieni un viesmīlīgi saimnieki! Noteikti atgriezīsimies :)

5 stars — ★★★★★

June 29, 2017, 12:26

Sehr gastfreundliche Familie! Würden mit Frühstück und Abendessen inklusive großer Weinauswahl verwöhnt. Als Ausgangspunkt zum Amatatrail zu empfehlen!

5 stars — ★★★★★

June 13, 2017, 8:22

A nice hotel located in a marvelous place. Very clean, calm atmosphere and very responsive service by the two owners. Highly recommended.

5 stars — ★★★★★

June 10, 2017, 6:06

The best place for visit with children. �We like!�

5 stars — ★★★★★

June 2, 2017, 10:47

Чудесное место для роматнического отдыха! <3

5 stars — ★★★★★

May 22, 2017, 16:55

Ein wunderschöner Ort voller Gastfreundlichkeit!

5 stars — ★★★★★

May 5, 2017, 19:46

A fantastic Nordic walking event! These people do know what hospitality is and how to provide quality services.

5 stars — ★★★★★

May 2, 2017, 14:13

Amazing place... I've been there twice in different rooms and Maria is favourite one... staff members are great and food they're serving is superb...

5 stars — ★★★★★

April 27, 2017, 4:52

Paldies arī no mūsu ģimenes par izcili garšīgām svētku vakariņām, ko saimniece (savā dzimšanas dienā!) un komanda sarūpēja mums! Dzintara forele un saldais bija kaut kas burvīgs! Jutāmies patiešām gaidīti! LIELS PALDIES un veiksmi šajā grūtajā viesmīlības biznesā arī turpmāk!

5 stars — ★★★★★

April 3, 2017, 11:34

Meklējot, kur pārnakšņot Cēsu pusē, atradām šo bezgala skaisto vietu "Kārļamuižu" Par ļoti skaisti un gaumīgi iekārtotajām telpām bijām sajūsmā gan lielie, gan mazie. Saimniece solīja, ka priekš mazās 4 gadīgās meitiņas numuriņā ieliks gultiņu, es biju tik aizkustināta, ka tā bija koka gultiņa, apgleznota ar bitītēm, uzklāta ar smalku, skaistu veļu un vēl puķains spilventiņš uzlikts! Gan es, gan meitiņa bijām sajūsmā. Tāda patiesi skaista vieta Vidzemes sirdī, kur atpūsties un sasmelties mieru, skaistumu, izbaudīt neuzbāzīgas, patīkamas rūpes! Sirdssilts paldies no Zikmaņu ģimenes!

5 stars — ★★★★★

February 21, 2017, 20:47

We spent the first days of our honeymoon here. For us, it was simply the perfect place to be those days and we would be happy to go back once :) Friendly stuff, lovely rooms, beautiful landscape, delicious food.

5 stars — ★★★★★

January 11, 2017, 7:49

Perfect location to explore Gauja National park with beauty of country hotel concept and hosts with natural hospitality gifts taking real care of their guests.

5 stars — ★★★★★

December 26, 2016, 5:48

Patīkama noskaņa, pilnīgs miers un mājīguma sajūta, gardi ēdieni, brīnišķīga apkalpošana un vieda saimniece. Noteikti iesaku izbaudīt.

5 stars — ★★★★★

October 24, 2016, 7:05

Pavadījām nedēļas nogali un biju septītajās debesīs no tā miera, ko sniedz vieta un personāls. Jutāmies gaidīti un neuzbāzīgi apčubināti. Milzīgs paldies pirtniecēm un muižas saimniecei!

5 stars — ★★★★★

September 26, 2016, 17:53

Tres bon hôtel ! Des chambres agréables et confortables . Une vue superbe et un endroit calme et reposant. Des vélos de tres bonnes qualités sont a dispositions pour des ballades bien sympathiques... un petite cabane où se trouve un sauna tout en bois est au fond de la petite forêt entre l'hotel et celle ci ! Bref un séjour que je conseil vivement !!! Et puis la gérante de l'hotel est vraiment super sympa et une bonne cuisiniére... merci pour ce moment en lettonie fort agreable !

5 stars — ★★★★★

August 26, 2016, 18:59

Einfach wunderbar und sehr empfehlenswert: Freundliche und zuvorkommende Bedienung und eine ausgezeichnete Küche! Wer schauen mag, werfe einen Blick in mein Album "Reisebilder Lettland"

5 stars — ★★★★★

June 29, 2016, 20:09

Visiem iesaku apmeklēt! Ideāla vieta un fantastiski cilvēki:-)

5 stars — ★★★★★

June 25, 2016, 13:08

Wunderbarer Flecken Erde! Tolle Familie

5 stars — ★★★★★

September 28, 2015, 12:46

Ļoti mājīga vietiņa! Laba atrašanās vieta, draudzīgi saimnieki

5 stars — ★★★★★

August 14, 2015, 7:58

Perfect hotel, rust en ruimte. Omgeving, volg de Amata trail, puur natuur. Gastvrijheid +++++. Volgend jaar weer.

Country: Latvia
22 November 2017

The hotel is very cozy, I loved my room (Elisabeth) with the big window overlooking the garden. As I enjoy long walks, I appreciated that the hotel is located near a long trail that stretches along a beautiful river. An excellent place for a quiet stay in nature.

Country: USA
6 November 2017

Only way to access is by car down acceptable dirt road off main road.Get directions on advance.Quick access to Cesis.8km.Relaxing atmosphere in farm country.Fresh local food in restaurant.

Country: Latvia
24 October 2017

Everything - very cousy feelings, nice rooms, perfect staff, gorgeous restaurant, clean and scenic surroundings, crative and atractive cook - meal was absolutely tasty!

Country: France
20 October 2017

The old country house has an adjoint apple orchard, and fresh apple juice was served at breakfast. The staff was pleasant.

Country: Australia
2 October 2017

The stafff were most welcoming and helped us decide which rooms were most appropriate for our family members. Bedrooms were compfortable but simple as appropriate for a country hotel. They were very quite. Food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was excellent and designed for our needs - 6 adults and 2 children. There was a good range of wines. The building was very attractrative and typical of rural Latvia. The setting was beautiful. The hotels provided 2 canoes which our grandsons enjoyed sailing on the small pond, a soccer field and sets of croquet bats and balls - all a great success with a 9 and 12 year old boy. They had bicycles to ride free of charge. Many interesting walks adjacent to the hotel.

Country: Canada
29 September 2017

Very clean modern room, quiet. The food was excellent, and the outdoor patio dining was clean and attractive. The staff were polite and friendly. Easy access to the main road. Central to several towns.

Country: United Kingdom
28 September 2017

Excellent setting with good food and service. Beer,wine and liqueur first class and very reasonably priced

Country: China
26 September 2017

cannot like it more. i love the house, the apple trees, the path in forest, the decoration and the dinner!! highly recommend that u shall stay here longer and must try hoster's dinner. all facilitate are provided including washmachine, kichten, bike, boat, leaflets regarding what to see&do nearby and etc

Country: USA
22 September 2017

We booked our room last minute while still in time for dinner. Very nice staff and the grounds were great for our 15mo old to play around. Apples were ripe and falling off the trees, which was pretty cool as well.

Country: USA
16 September 2017

This is a beautiful location with a very restful environment. And the food is absolutely terrific! The chef is passionate about using garden-fresh fruits and vegetables and sourcing other products from nearby farms. Meals are beautifully prepared, healthy and delicious!

Country: Italy
29 August 2017

The location is just perfect! Staff is friendly and breakfast is nice.

Country: United Kingdom
29 August 2017

Beautiful setting. Able to walk out from property in either direction on well marked path through the forests by the Amate river. In easy driving distance of other sites in the Guaja national park. Liked the sauna.

Country: United Kingdom
14 August 2017

Friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Lovely large garden with benches and tables to sit at. Good breakfast (extra charge). Delicious 3 course dinner (set meal for fixed rice of 18 euros). Beds comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities in room. Bicycle and canoe hire on site. Information about activities in the area available and staff will help with arrangements.

Country: Denmark
7 August 2017

Extraordinary location in the middle of nature. Friendly staff, a very nice room and storks in the garden.

Country: Lithuania
31 July 2017

Very atmospheric hotel - cozy and small, with a fabulous garden around. We did really enjoy dinner (improvisation on Latvian cuisine). Definitely recommended.

Country: Australia
18 July 2017

Karlamuiza is magical. A beautiful location. Food in restaurant great, and eating in the garden on a warm night, surrounded by the forest and orchard was a highlight of our holiday.

Country: Australia
16 July 2017

This country hotel is super friendly and comfortable, right in the middle of the national park. The staff service at this hotel is outstanding- they even welcomed us with an Australian flag out the front for our arrival. The staff really make you feel at home here. The Alexander room was very large, much larger than regular hotel rooms. The hotel is situated on beautiful grounds with orchards, lakes, trails and wildflowers. The staff went above and beyond to help us with hikes, canoe hire, and local attraction suggestions. The chef even helped us with restaurant suggestions in our next destination! We were pleasemtly surprised at how good the 3-course dinner is! Set outside in the garden, The chef uses local and home grown ingredients to create a fresh and very tasty meal. Highly recommend dining at the hotel- we regret only eating dinner here on our last night! You won't regret booking this lovely hotel and we will definitely be back!

Country: Netherlands
16 July 2017

Peaceful and quiet, everything was tidy and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast - delicious, variety and amazing presentation. As genius members we could borrow bicycle for free and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

Country: Italy
11 July 2017

Nice country hotel, in a very quiet environment, with several walking paths that lead through the forest nearby. Our apartments were spacious, with a kitchen and a big bathroom. The three courses dinner for only 18 euros is a treat! We had mushroom soup and beetroot bread with butter, a choice among venison steak, trout and roasted pork with plums (all very good) and a dessert.

Country: Latvia
4 July 2017

yes. a place worth staying & coming back. you will enjoy it - the best out of 3 stars, no doubts.

Country: USA
3 July 2017

Small, comfortable country hotel in wonderful location in the middle of the national park, with a nice hiking path from the hotel leading to a river through lots of wildflowers (we went in early June). Quite, peaceful. Not far from Cesis.

Country: United Kingdom
20 June 2017

Country: USA
14 June 2017

It is a country hotel, what's not to like. It is in a wonderful area of nature/woods. We enjoyed a dinner that was prepared outside while we were relaxing. The morning breakfast was very good, eggs cooked to order as well as the usual other breakfast items.

Country: Germany
12 June 2017

Wonderful place in the countryside with beautiful garden, spacious nice room.

Country: Turkey
12 June 2017

-Separate entrance from the garden - makes you feel like at your own summer house. -Beautiful apple tree garden with tables to enjoy&have chat with friends. -Kitchen in room, to cook your meal or make tea, coffee. -Nice and soft bedsheets, sweet sleeping&dreams. -Right next to the hotel several nature walking paths to explore.

Country: Israel
11 June 2017

The surrounding is tranquil and beautiful. The owner and staff were very attentive. The chef prepared special, tasty meals, the kind you would expect to get in gourmet restaurant in the city.

Country: Spain
11 April 2017

People who atended us were really nice and charm. Breakfast was really good and the room was really beautiful and confortable. It's located in the very heart of Gauja's National Park. We would come again for sure!

Country: Germany
9 April 2017

Lots of nature; the homemade dinner; welcoming, polite host who prepared a special dessert to celebrate our special evening in the hotel. The home style - the breakfast - the host tried to make it different every morning. The Amata trail starts right in the property. The quietness. Thank you for the wonderful time! The location is good for exploring the nearby villages/ towns: Cesis, Sigulda, Ligatne (with a car).

Country: Estonia
27 February 2017

Manors have alway special vibe and coziness. Upon request the staff was so kind to bring food to our room. And our national flag was welcoming us :)

Country: Lithuania
20 February 2017

Conforrable rooms, very nice atmosphere, perfect service, beautifull environment and perfect location - trail path starts right at the door and leads to awesome river banks views. I also found beaufiful Latvian suvenirs at the residence.

Country: Latvia
6 February 2017

We stayed at the cottage Annmarie - excellent place for a peaceful and quite weekend. Very detailed and nice design. Kitchen equipment very good. Bathroom freshly refurbished. Good wifi. There was no need to order breakfast as we had that opportunity to prepare it in the cottage

Country: Russia
3 February 2017

Helpful and customer oriented owners (helped with the car when battery was dead and allowed to park the car in their personal garage) Tasty (but rather pricy) food Great nature, rived nearby Close to Cesis, Amatsiems

Country: Latvia
9 January 2017

Peacefullness welcoming staff

Country: Latvia
7 January 2017

Country hotel in all means of expression. Everything was normal but dont expect too much. Nice nature, Amata river at neighborhood. Fridge and kettle in room. Charming view from window and balcony. Nice and kind housekeeper.

Country: Latvia
28 December 2016

A top class country hotel with excellent accommodation and dining. Professionally and personally run by a family who have engaged the very best of local goodies. Everything is very well planned- feels like each detail in the room has touch of the great sence in taste. Our kids felt like home immediately! We chose Cottage Annmarie for our stay- it couldnt be better!! Our escape from city buzz was excellent! Plan to stay there more than a day -there are plenty of things to do - explore the area, dont miss relaxing in Sauna!

Country: Latvia
25 December 2016

One can feel a personal attitude in everything - how the rooms are decorated, how the meal is served, etc. Friendly owners and staff. We really enjoyed our stay there - a good place to have a rest outside city. I think we will visit this place again.

Country: Estonia
29 November 2016

Very nice and quiet place among fields and forests. Really good choice for a cosy weekend outside the city. Good place for small hiking trips. Hotel itself is very clean warm and nice. Food options are also possible but have to be ordered upfront.

Country: United Kingdom
14 November 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Everything was absolutely superb - including the hosts! Great and charming rural position within Gauja forest, yet handy to Riga, and also close by to the charming town of Cesis. We'll be back.

Country: Estonia
27 October 2016

You can discuss with the hostess what you would like for dinner and they make it for you. Well placed for trips in Gauja park or visiting Sigulda attractions.

Country: Austria
4 October 2016

Great location in the hills of Gauja NP, just step out of the door of the room and one finds himself in a snug orchard to relax (our 2y old son loved to play around); Beautiful Amata trail can be started directly from the hotel. Owners were very helpful: Since we didn't have a car they personally picked us up/dropped us off and also helped with bus and train schedules. Good selection for breakfast with freshly-made pancakes, gorgeous dinner prepared by Mrs. Stepins herself. Room spacious and tidy.

Country: Canada
28 September 2016

Location: This country hotel is located near Cesis. You drive on a gravel country road for approximately 6.5 km before reaching the inn. It has beautiful and extensive grounds that you can enjoy. Apartment: The apartment that we booked was unavailable as other hotel guests were occupying it. We were offered alternate apartments that were not suitable. The owner reluctantly gave us Apartment Angela which was spacious although it did not have the same amenities as the apartment originally booked. This apartment had a master bedroom and a second bedroom with a very poorly equipped kitchenette. It was not possible to prepare a cold or hot meal. There was only one bathroom which was located in the master bedroom. At 2:30 am, we were awakened by a very loud noise that continued all night preventing us from sleeping. The owner explained that the noise came from the water pipes. Communications: The owner did not respond to any of the queries that we made prior to our arrival. She did not inform us that the apartment that we had booked was not available when we called to reconfirm our booking the day prior to our arrival. Complimentary drinks upon arrival were not offered although they were included in our booking. Overall, this was an unpleasant experience.

Country: USA
28 September 2016

As the name states, this 'Country' Inn provides a peaceful stopping point but not far off the beaten path. Breakfast was good. Dinner was excellent!

Country: Latvia
27 September 2016

everything. perfect place for weekends. location (next to Cesis), nature trails, sauna, rural settings, scenery. Food. Breakfast (pancakes & more) - dont forget to order it the day before. Enjoy Latvia, Vidzeme & Karli!

Country: United Kingdom
23 September 2016

Great location with walks in the national park on the doorstep. Lovely home-cooked food (fresh local produce) and excellent breakfast. The owner was very helpful - even providing fresh mint tea from the garden!

Country: Malta
18 September 2016

Room was comfortable with a small kitchenette (Room name - Maria). Parking was available with no problems and also wifi with good signal.

Country: United Kingdom
17 September 2016

Lovely setting for a country hotel with well appointed rooms,run by a very friendly family. good breakfast and evening meals on request. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners.A lovely place for couples and families with young children who will find plenty of space to play in.

Country: Latvia
9 September 2016

The whole place is just fantastic, meant to enjoy both in a big company or for a romantic couple getaway. We got much more than expected! Lovely rustic interiors and an amazing orchard outside. All the possible equipment for a garden party, big or small. Romantic surroundings and a beautiful forest walkway leading to the river. Tasty ecological apple jam from local gardens served for breakfast is worth mentioning - we loved it so much that had to buy one jar for ourselves.

Country: Netherlands
28 August 2016

We had a very nice little apartment room with kitchenette The staff were so nice and very helpful Good location for seeing the Gauja national park Dinner was delicious and very reasonable

Country: Latvia
12 August 2016

The owners were very friendly and communicable. The location is beautiful and there is a possibility to hike. Also, we liked that board games were available for use.

Country: Israel
12 August 2016

Beautiful little hotel, personal touch, very clean and well kept ...inside and out as well. Very attentive stuff. Dont miss the food .We had a delicious dinner and breakfast.

Country: United Kingdom
5 August 2016

Big room, huge bed, very good wireless connection. Terrace with benches and tables to sit outside, very nice to have breakfast or just chill! We highly recommend having dinner at the hotel. They serve delicious homemade food with fresh ingredients from their garden and/or relatives! Direct connection from hotel to a hiking trail alongside the lake, beautiful surroundings. The owner and her daughters were very nice and friendly, she even gave us some insect repellent as we forgot ours (desperately needed).

Country: Australia
28 July 2016

Friendly and welcoming experience. No need for a car - we came by train and were picked up from the station. We used the hotel bikes to ride to the Kingdom of the Forest Mother walk which was lovely. There was even a resident stork family on the grounds. The meals were excellent.

Country: Germany
22 July 2016

Last time I stayed for one night. This time I came for two nights. Next time I will stay for three nights or longer. This is a Little paradise in a great landscape wirh an interesting history! The service was lovely! Thank you for the trought!

Country: Finland
5 July 2016

We had six rooms and the cottage. And we also had a wonderful time in Karlamuiza. Everything went so smoothly. The accommodations were highly enjoyable, the meals were delicious and the surroundings and the sauna were a delight, too. Until next time, Baiba!

Country: Australia
3 July 2016

Lovely quiet relaxing place. Was lovely to have dinner in the garden. Host and staff were great Parking on site

Country: Canada
2 July 2016

Proprietor was very helpful and friendly. Area was so quiet you could hear the bees flying as they pollinated the surrounding trees. A very nice and relaxed place to use as a base for hiking in the national park and visiting its historic sites.

Country: Latvia
16 June 2016

Everything was perfect - countryside located guesthouse with lots of things to do - cycling, cricket, jogging, and much more. Realy peaceful and romantic rest!

Country: USA
12 June 2016

Owners were wonderful. Friendly and helpful. She prepared the evening meals which were top notch. Just a very comfortable stay in a beautiful setting.

Country: United Kingdom
31 May 2016

Beautiful, quiet and calm location. Courteous and welcoming staff. Good food.

Country: Poland
27 February 2016

Excellent location, the beds were comfortable, the staff was accommodating and very helpful. The food was delicious and the hotel itself felt very cozy.

Country: Russia
10 January 2016

Located in 10 minutes drive from Zagarkalns/Ozolkalns ski resorts. Home-like atmosphere, free ice skates to use on nearby frozen pond, very helpful and friendly owner. Fine beakfasts, dinners, sauna (paid separately) 3km drive to A2 road to Riga/Jurmala (unpaved roads around but ok for any car).

Country: Latvia
21 November 2017

Very cosy cottage, great confort, super nice staff, cute traditional sauna and wild and green territories all around! Great experience!

Country: Latvia
2 November 2017

Lication, facilities, nature

Country: Latvia
7 September 2017

Location, facilities, nature

Country: Spain
6 September 2017

The concept and authenticity.

Country: Netherlands
4 September 2017

Very quiet and rural. Very nice proprietor.

Country: Netherlands
24 August 2017

Very friendly host, lovely surrounding. Everything is taken care of with respect for nature. Well worth a stay!

Country: Latvia
18 August 2017

Calm atmosphere, simple, but comfortable room, friendly staff

Country: Switzerland
1 August 2017

Staff / Food / Location

Country: Switzerland
9 July 2017

Beautiful location, good food

Country: Latvia
7 July 2017

A very beautiful, peaceful place, nice design of the garden, pleasant Latvian meal and a nice choice of wines in a restaurant.

Country: Poland
1 July 2017

the nature around, cosy rooms, silence

Country: Germany
19 June 2017

Good meals, cosy garden

Country: Russia
1 June 2017

Everything

Country: Latvia
1 June 2017

The garden is so beautiful! Pleasant and romantic atmosphere! Beds are very comfortable! Thank you very much! I will return again!

More reviews'